The Bible is divided into two parts.  The first part is the Old Testament; sometimes called the old covenant.  The second part is the New Testament; sometimes called the new covenant. 

            The Old Testament is a contract between God and Abraham; including all of his descendants.  This covenant was extended to all of mankind if they so choose.  The people who did not choose to be a part of the contract we referred to as Gentiles.  The people that took part in this covenant are called, the children of Israel.  This covenant is often referred to as The Law because there were strict rules and rituals that had to be performed.

            The New Testament is a covenant between God and all of mankind.  This covenant was based on better promises that the Old Testament.  This covenant did not abolish the Old Testament; it merely fulfilled the Old Testament’s ceremonies and rituals.  This covenant is called Grace because mankind was given a grace period; concerning the ordinances of the Law.  This grace period is in effect until the return of Jesus or the day you die; which ever comes first.

            Both the Old and the New Testament is divided into books.  The books are divided into Chapters and the chapters are further divided into verses. 


Total of 66 books

The Old Testament has 39 books

The New Testament has 27 books

There are a total of 1189 chapters in the Bible

The Old Testament has 929 chapters

The New Testament has 260 chapters

There are a total of 31102 verses in the Bible

The Old Testament has 23145 verses

The New Testament has 7957 verses

The book of Psalms has the most chapters (150)

Obadiah, Philemon, 2 John, 3 John and Jude consists of only one chapter

Psalm 119 is the longest Chapter in the Bible

Psalms 117 is the shortest chapter in the Bible

Esther 8:9 is the longest verse in the Bible

John 11:35 is the shortest verse in the Bible

The chapter with the most verses is Numbers chapter 7 (89)

The Chapter with the fewest verses is Psalms 117 (2)